Memphis divorce law firm explains the basics of getting a divorce in Tennessee
Memphis, TN- Are you getting a divorce in Memphis, Tennessee? Are you unsure what you need to do in order to get your divorce underway? There are many decisions you need to make and some residency requirements you must meet before getting a divorce in Tennessee.
What are Tennessee’s residency requirements?
Before you can file for divorce in Tennessee, you must live in the state for at least six months.
Fault or no-fault divorce?You can only file for a fault or no-fault divorce in Tennessee
When you file for divorce in Memphis, you have the choice of filing for a fault or no-fault divorce. USAttorneys recommends you speak with a divorce lawyer in Tennessee and let them explain the difference between a fault and no-fault divorce. We’ll give a brief description of each below.
No-fault divorce is more common than fault divorce. No-fault divorce is appropriate when a couple agrees that their marriage is “irretrievably broken” and there is no hope for reconciliation. When a couple can agree on key issues, their divorce can be approved within 60 days if a couple has no children or 90 days if they do.
A fault divorce is appropriate if there was physical, verbal, or sexual abuse of a child or a spouse, incarceration, infidelity or abandonment. Obtaining a fault divorce is a complicated process, so we recommend you are aware of what the process entails.Couples can decide on child custody arrangements without the family court.
How is child custody determined in Memphis?
When a couple cannot decide on a child custody arrangement, the family courts will make the decision for you. Family courts in Tennessee take the best interests of a child into consideration when they are deciding on child custody arrangement. That includes determining which parent can provide the attention and time a child needs, give them a stable home and provide for their financial needs.Set up a consultation with a divorce lawyer in Memphis to learn the basics of filing for divorce.
How is child support determined?
Each parent is obligated for their child’s financial needs. Tennessee has a calculator used by judges to determine who will pay child support and what amount they must pay. Some metrics considered when deciding child support, include each parent’s income, the amount of time they spend with their child or children and what assets they have.
We discussed just a few of the basics above. If you want some to walk you through the process, so you know what to expect, USAttorneys recommends you meet with a divorce lawyer in Memphis, Tennessee We recommend you call a divorce lawyer near you and set up a consultation.