Love, marriage, and divorce can sometimes be a complicated affair and that what a Pierre man has proved. 35 year old Brian Wright has plenty of work to do before he can legally re-marry the woman he supposedly married in May. The woman in question was in the courtroom as Wright pleaded guilty to charges of bigamy, as reported by Capital Journal.
A divorce lawyer is likely to come into play some time as state judge John Brown ordered Wright to end this so called four month old marriage, and then divorce his earlier wife in order to legally re-marry the woman he claimed to have married in May. To make things less complicated, Wright was married to another woman before and was indicted by a Pierre grand jury in June on bigamy charges when he married a second time without having divorced his first wife.
What are you thinking Wright?
Wright’s request to suspend a prison sentence was granted by Judge Brown who instead ordered him to serve 12 months of supervised probation and to get a proper divorce. Wright and his second wife were granted a marriage license by the Hughes County Courthouse. The deeds office where marriages are registered did not have any clue that Wright had previously obtained a marriage license earlier in the same office.
According to Patty Williams, Deputy Register of Deeds, their office did not have any system to determine if any current marriage license applicant was in a marriage that was still in force since divorce and annulments were handled at a state level.
Why did his first wife even care?
Wright’s first marriage only came to light when his new wife decided to go social and post details of her wedding on Facebook. Not surprisingly, his first wife did not delay in contacting law enforcement. Wright’s attorneys, who had plenty of explaining to do on behalf of his client told Judge Brown that Wright and his first wife separated after a year of marriage following which she relocated out of state and was in Bismarck in North Dakota.
Wright’s divorce attorney will now draw up the necessary papers so that he can get an annulment from his second marriage. The lawyer will also represent him in filing for divorce from his first wife.
South Dakota divorce law basics
Meanwhile, as Wright sorts out his bigamy and divorce issues, other couples seeking a divorce in South Dakota ought to be aware of some of the basic laws in the state. According to divorce lawyers, spouses can file for a divorce petition on either fault or no-fault grounds. In a no-fault divorce, the couple can cite irreconcilable differences and obtain a divorce.
On the other hand, if one spouse decides to file a divorce on fault grounds, he or she will have to cite grounds such as domestic violence, adultery, neglect, and willful desertion, to name a few.
Prior to filing for divorce in the state of South Dakota, one of the spouses must be a resident of the state, and remain so until the decree is entered. A court hearing will be held after the mandatory waiting period of 60 days. To learn more about the state’s equitable distribution of property and other divorce laws, make sure to get in touch with an experienced divorce attorney. Not sure where to find one? No worries, the same entity that made the world flatter (the Internet) has made this issue easier for you to. A fantastic divorce lawyer can be found right here: USAttorneys.com.