Please choose the Arkansas county where your Divorce is:
Select one of our top divorce lawyers in Arkansas if you are looking to file for a separation from your spouse or to end your marriage. There are a few things you should know before choosing a course of action. A divorce is the legal termination of the marriage. There are two types of divorce – fault and no fault – that you need to consider when filing for the process. No fault means that you do not have to justify the divorce by proving your spouse did something wrong while a fault divorce usually is the result of abuse, violence or some other form of misconduct.
What many don’t realize is that a separation also involves many of the details that a divorce does. You would still need to hire a divorce attorney and file for legal action in order to distribute assets and property as well as to grant custody of the children.
Our top divorce attorneys in Arkansas can help you with your decision. Call today and schedule an initial consultation.
Filing for Divorce in Arkansas: What You Need to Know and Why You Should Seek Legal Help
When spouses in Arkansas agree to file for divorce or one spouse seeks to end the marriage because of specific reasons that have caused the relationship to break down, there are many matters that need to be considered. Divorce proceedings are not always quick and easy, even when the decision to file for the dissolution of the marriage is a mutual one. Even the most amicable of couples can end up arguing over property and assets or alimony. And when the parties filing for divorce in Arkansas have children together, proceedings can get even more complicated.
For these reasons, it is always in each party’s interest to consult with an experienced Arkansas divorce lawyer before getting started. Divorce attorneys specialize in the field of family law and can help spouses reach an agreement on how to divide assets, child custody arrangements and many other factors. They also serve as mediators between parties to ensure that any small disagreement does not escalate into a full blown dispute.
However, even before the petition to dissolve the marriage can be filed, there are some basic facts regarding the divorce process in the state that all parties should be aware of. Below are some general rules and regulations in Arkansas regarding divorce proceedings:
Residency Requirements for Arkansas Divorce Petition
In order for parties to file for divorce in Arkansas, at least one spouse must have resided in the state for 60 days prior to petitioning for the dissolution of the marriage and for 3 months before the actual divorce can be finalized. The petition must be filed in the county where the party initiating the action resides. If the spouse petitioning for divorce is not a resident of Arkansas, then the proceedings will take place in the county where the defendant resides.
Legal Grounds for Divorce
In Arkansas, the general grounds for divorce include:
- Felony conviction
- Habitual drunkenness or drug addiction
- Incurable insanity
Additionally, if the spouses have lived separate and apart from each other for 18 continuous months, an absolute decree of divorce can be granted.
Obtaining Legal Help
Because there are so many different aspects to a divorce, including the splitting of property, allocation of alimony and determination of child custody, hiring an experienced Arkansas divorce lawyer can help ensure the best possible resolution for the case is attained. However, finding the ideal attorney is not always easy. But that’s where we can step in to help.